It’s Time to Let Your Ice Cub Dreams Melt Away

Upon arriving in Rome, one of the first things I noticed was that I felt perpetually thirsty. And, to my disappointment, every single restaurant I walk into serves water without ice, and I could drink lukewarm water for the rest of my life and never feel that my thirst has been quenched.

But, I wouldn’t DARE ask for ice in my water – there is really no better way to irritate your waiter (except maybe asking for the wifi password…).

Well, I recently stumbled upon an article that immediately converted me not to team lukewarm water, but to team hot water. I even threw away my ice tray!

Contrary to my initial feelings, hot water actually does hydrate you. Hydration is key to a healthy body, as it helps your kidneys flush away waste products and provides a medium for your body’s metabolic processes.

Hot water offers many more benefits, too!

First, drinking hot water helps you to maintain your current weight because it increases your body temperature, which in turn slightly raises your metabolic rate. Dr. Michael Wald, Director of Nutritional Services at Integrated Medicine and Nutrition, says that hot water may also increase your metabolic rate to the point where it even causes you to shed some pounds, but this potential effect is still part of ongoing studies.

Second, consuming hot water is crucial to your general wellness. It may reduce the number of infections that you suffer because boiled water kills off bacterial organisms. Hot water also dissolves phlegm, which clears your sinuses and diminishes soar throats. Drinking hot water also causes you to sweat, which releases bad toxins from your body.

Finally, many people even find drinking hot water to be pleasurable. When consumed, it travels down your throat to the receptors in your mouth, esophagus, stomach, and intestines, stimulating the pleasure centers in your brain.

Here’s one additional bonus for all the ladies reading my blog – hot water can help lessen your menstrual cramps! The heat calms your abdominal muscles, causing them to relax and not spasm.

So, after you trek through the narrow streets of Rome and arrive at a restaurant desperate for water, try to ignore your American ice-craving instincts and enjoy the benefits of lukewarm and hot water.

Trust me – unlike the situation with ice, the Italians won’t mind if you ask for coffee or tea.

Leave a Reply

