Does Acai Deserve All the Hype?

Especially during the summer, exploring the Eternal City is draining both mentally and physically. The unexpected changes in the street names will often challenge your navigation abilities; each monument, memorial, and museum is rich with history and meaning for you to digest; and each destination requires a sweaty trek to get there.

The other day while I was cruising through the streets of Rome, I happened to stumble upon the Italian Parliament. As you can probably guess from the way I discovered this building, I had gotten lost and discovered Parliament accidentally. It was 90 degrees Fahrenheit, I had gotten lost yet again, and, in the most dramatic manner, I declared to my friends that I could not carry on without food or coffee or SOMETHING.

Well, to my luck, the Italian Parliament is situated next to a little store called Acai and Friends. Acai is dark purple berry that comes from a South American palm tree, and they are often served in the form of a thick smoothie with various toppings of your choice. My tired friends and I were very excited because not only are acai bowls cold and delicious, but acai is also a renowned super food.

As I inhaled my acai bowl covered in granola, bananas, and coconut, I began to wonder whether acai warranted its status as a super food. It seems to be very rare that something so delicious could also be so healthy…

Well, it turns out acai is popular for good reason. The berry is incredibly rich in antioxidants, fiber, and heart-healthy fats. In fact, acai has more antioxidants than any other berry, which means that it is sometimes even used in cosmetics or other beauty products. Fiber is important to maintain a healthy digestive system, and antioxidants are important to protect cells from damage that can lead to certain diseases like cancer.

Acai berries are also touted as a weight-loss mechanism, but researchers are still in the process of proving – or disproving – this theory. Nonetheless, all berries are important in maintaining a healthy diet, which is crucial to losing weight.

So if you’re every feeling fatigued from touring room and need a quick pick-me-up, make sure to wander by the Italian Parliament and grab a refreshing, rejuvenating acai bowl.

But before you go telling everybody about this place and your love for acai bowls…. Acai is pronounced AH-SIGH-EE.

Screen Shot 2015-11-02 at 9.42.45 PM

Leave a Reply

